This is the "Modern China - Project" page of the "Burns - Modern China" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Burns - Modern China  

Last Updated: Jan 26, 2014 URL: http://olgchs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=558410 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Modern China - Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment Information

Download the following document for project description and guidelines:

Recommended - Web Resources

 

Recommended Resources - Books

  • As the topics for the project are varied, there are many books that we have in our collection that could apply.  
  • For example, searching "China" in Destiny Quest (our online library catalog) gets you 73 results - many of these results are in the 951 call number range.  Shelf browsing could be very helpful when researching your topic...!

        

 

 

Wikipedia

A word about everyone's favorite internet source...

  • Wikipedia is not the worst tool in the world - but it's not the best.  Always remember - Wikipedia should be used as a jumping-off point for academic research.  Wikipedia articles can help with general background information and for getting ideas for additional/different keyword search terms.  Wikipedia should be treated as the beginning of your journey, not the end!
  • What exactly do you know about Wikipedia?  Is it trustworthy?  Check out these sources for a bit more information:

The Top 10 Reasons Students Cannot Cite or Rely on Wikipedia

Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface (NCSU Libraries)

Gotcha!  Student's Wikipedia Hoax Fools Mainstream Media

  • Remember:  Wikipedia is just "wikiality" - reality as decided by majority rule.  Do you trust classmates/younger siblings/random people to be experts?
 

Recommended - Databases

Here are two helpful databases to use when researching your project:

Reminders: 

  • Think outside the box - look beyond the search box for tabs that might help narrow down what you're looking for!
  • Remember to keep trying different search terms - if you use the same two keywords to search, you'll just keep getting the same results.
  • Try out Advanced Search!  Looking for an exact phrase can be helpful in narrowing down the results.

Hint:  The username and password are the 6 letter abbreviation for the school.

Hint: The username and password for this database is the five number address of the school - look it up on the school website if you don't know it!

 

Resources to Use - Online Library Catalog (Destiny)

Click the Destiny Quest icon to access our online library catalog!

Reminders:

 - Fun features - shelf browse, advanced search, and citation creator.
 - Remember to use your keywords!  Be both creative and specific.
 - This is history - remember the 900's are a great place to search (reference, DVDs, and non-fiction)!

 

Dropbox - How To

How can I help?

Profile Image
Amelia Davis, Librarian
Contact Info
(240) 283-3236
Send Email

Helpful Web Sites for Creating Citations

Remember to cite your image sources!  Images, videos, etc. are also intellectual property and need to be properly cited.

  • OWL - Writing Center at Purdue
    Provides helpful guides for writing papers and contains information for creating bibliographies in a variety of disciplines and formats.
  • EasyBib
    An automatic bibliography and citation generator - very helpful tool, but be careful when using it! Like any translator, sometimes the results get garbled - review the generated citations carefully to make sure they're correct!

Evaluating Websites

  • UC Berkeley - Evaluating Web Pages - Questions to Ask
    Train your eye and your fingers to employ a series of techniques that help you quickly find what you need to know about web pages;
    Train your mind to think critically, even suspiciously, by asking a series of questions that will help you decide how much a web page is to be trusted.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip