This is the "Third Quarter - Things Fall Apart Project" page of the "Kellermann - H. Pre-AP/IB Lit. Classics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Kellermann - H. Pre-AP/IB Lit. Classics  

Last Updated: Jan 28, 2015 URL: http://olgchs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=577021 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Third Quarter - Things Fall Apart Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment Information

How can I help?

Profile Image
Amelia Davis, Librarian
Contact Info
(240) 283-3236
Send Email
 

Recommended Resources - Print Sources in the Library

If you need help finding a book, just ask Ms. Davis!

 

Check out some of these print resources we have in the library:

  • Nigeria by Ida Walker -

                   Call number:  966.9 WAL

  • Culture and customs of Nigeria by Toyin Falola -

                   Call number: 306 FAL

  • A History of Nigeria by Toyin Falola -

                   Call number:  966.9 FAL

  • Colonialism in Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart by Louise Hawker -

                   Call number:  823 ACH

  • Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart by Harold Bloom -

                   Call number:  823 ACH

  • Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart by David Whittaker -

                   Call number:  823 ACH

  • Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart: A Casebook by Isidore Okpewho -

                   Call number:  823 ACH

  • Understanding Things fall apart : a student casebook to issues, sources, and historical documents by Kalu Ogbaa -

                   Call number:  823 ACH

 

 

Helpful Citation Documents

Need help figuring out how your paper should be formatted?  Wondering how to do in-text citations?  Check out these documents!

Helpful Web Sites for Creating Citations

  • OWL - Writing Center at Purdue
    Provides helpful guides for writing papers and contains information for creating bibliographies in a variety of disciplines and formats.
 

Don't Forget...

Cite your images!

Remember: If it's not your work, you've got to cite it!  See Helpful Websites for Creating Citations for a listing and links of some helpful citation websites.

 

Recommended Resources - Housing/Living Conditions

Use these databases!

Search Hints:

  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - think: "housing", "home", "dwelling", "rural", etc.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.
  • Keep digging - if you find out the name of a well-known Nigerian city or village, use that as another keyword.

The username and password are the same for both World Geography & Culture Online and Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia - use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school.

Funk and Wagnalls

For Global Issues in Context, the number required is Good Counsel's five-number street address on Old Vic Blvd. 

Global Issues in Context

 

Recommended Resources - Food and Agriculture

Use these databases!

Search Hints:

  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - think: "food", "cuisine", etc.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.
  • Keep digging - if you find out the name of a popular Nigerian dish, use that as another keyword.

Use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school to access World Geography & Culture Online.

For Global Issues in Context, the number required is Good Counsel's five-number street address on Old Vic Blvd. 

Global Issues in Context

 

Recommended Resources - Family Life

Use these databases!

Search Hints:

  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - think: "family life", "children", "parents", "family unit", etc.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.

The username and password are the same for both World Geography & Culture Online and Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia - use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school.

Funk and Wagnalls

For Global Issues in Context, the number required is Good Counsel's five-number street address on Old Vic Blvd. 

Global Issues in Context

 

Recommended Resources - Traditional Wedding Customs

Use these databases!

Search Hints:

  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - think: "family life", "rites of passage", "Nigerian wedding", etc.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.
  • Remember to start vague and get more specific as you continue your search - learn to focus your search in and out depending on the results you get.  

The username and password are the same for both Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and World Geography & Culture Online - use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school.

Funk and Wagnalls

For Global Issues in Context, the number required is Good Counsel's five-number street address on Old Vic Blvd. 

Student Resources in Context

 

Recommended Resources - Igbo Religious Beliefs and Folklore

Use these databases!

Search Hints:

  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - think: "Igbo", "religion", "folklore", "mythology", etc.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.
  • As you discover religious terms (names of gods, terms relating to religious beliefs, etc.), use those as your keywords to get more specific with your searches.  

The username and password are the same for World Religions Online, World Geography & Culture Online, and Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia - use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school.

Funk and Wagnalls

 

Recommended Resources - British Occupation of Nigeria

Use these databases!

Search Hints:

  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - think: combining "British" and "Igbo", "history overview", "Nigeria colonialism", "20th century", etc.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.
  • In the World Geography & Culture Online database, be sure to check out the Timeline and History Overview section in the Nigeria Country page - this is a GREAT place to start your search in order to get some historical background.
  • Make sure to think about British occupation before and during the time Things Fall Apart was published!

The username and password are the same for World Geography & Culture Online, Modern World History Online, and Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia - use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school.

Funk and Wagnalls

 

Recommended Resources - Current Events in Nigeria

Use these databases!

Search Hints:

  • Before anything else, frist think about what time period you need to look into - how was Britain involved in Nigeria before and during the time Things Fall Apart was published?
  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - think: combining "British" and "Igbo", "history overview", "Nigeria colonialism", "20th century", etc.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.
  • In the World Geography & Culture Online database, be sure to check out the Timeline and History Overview section in the Nigeria Country page - this is a GREAT place to start your search in order to get some historical background.

The username and password are the same for Global Issues in Context and Opposing Viewpoints in Context  - use the school's 5 digit number address.

Global Issues in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

The username and password are the same for World Geography & Culture Online and Issues & Controversies - use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school.

 

Recommended Resources - Nigerian Tribal Structures

Use these databases!

Search Hints:

  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - as you start to find out more specific names of Nigerian tribes, use those as keywords in your next search.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.
  • Remember to start vague and get more specific as you continue your search - learn to focus your search in and out depending on the results you get.  

The username and password are the same for both World Geography & Culture Online and Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia - use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school.

Funk and Wagnalls

For Student Resources in Context, the number required is Good Counsel's five-number street address on Old Vic Blvd. 

Student Resources in Context

 

Recommended Resources - Nigerian Art and Music

Use only these databases and websites!

Search Hints:

  • Remember to be creative with your searches!  Don't just use the same words - as you start to find out more specific names of Nigerian tribes, use those as keywords in your next search.
  • Don't forget to use quotes around a search phrase!  The computer is only so good as the search you put in it - and you are smarter than a computer!  You manipulating the computer = you getting better results.
  • Remember to start vague and get more specific as you continue your search - learn to focus your search in and out depending on the results you get.  

The username and password are the same for both World Geography & Culture Online and Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia - use the 6 letter abbreviation of the school.

Funk and Wagnalls

For images of traditional Nigerian art and examples of Nigerian music, visit the following websites.  You are REQUIRED to talk about how to search and cite these sources with Ms. Davis!

Art & Life in Africa

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip