This is the "Third Quarter - 1984 Research Paper" page of the "Kellermann - British Lit/Comp" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Kellermann - British Lit/Comp  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2017 URL: http://olgchs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=577067 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Third Quarter - 1984 Research Paper Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment

In case the portal goes down!

 

Resources to Use - Online Library Catalog (Destiny)

Click the Destiny Quest icon to access our online library catalog!

Reminders:

 - Fun features - shelf browse, advanced search, and citation creator.
 - Remember to use your keywords!  Be both creative and specific.

 

Resources Recommended by Ms. Davis

Having trouble finding where these titles are in the library?  Just ask Ms. Davis or Ms. Miller!


George Orwell's 1984 edited and with an introduction by Harold Bloom

Call number: 823.9 ORW

George Orwell edited and with an introduction by Harold Bloom

Call number: 823.9 ORW

 

Wikipedia

  • You will NOT be allowed to use Wikipedia as a source for this paper.
  • Why can't you use Wikipedia as a source for this paper?  Check out these sources for a bit more information:

The Top 10 Reasons Students Cannot Cite or Rely on Wikipedia

Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface (NCSU Libraries)

Gotcha!  Student's Wikipedia Hoax Fools Mainstream Media

  • Remember:  Wikipedia is just "wikiality" - reality as decided by majority rule.  Do you trust classmates/younger siblings/random people to be experts?
 

Just because..

 

Resources to Use - Databases

Here are a few helpful databases to use when researching for your presentation:

Hint:  For World Religions Online, World Geography and Culture Online, and Britannica, the username and password are the six-letter abbreviation for the school.  For Global Issues in Context, the password is the five-digit address of the school (look it up on the GC homepage if you don't know it!).

Reminders: 

  • Don't forget helpful features such as Advanced Search, Filters, Limit, and Sort by.
  • Instead of looking through the physical copy of The Encyclopedia of Religion, go to Gale's Virtual Reference Library to search our e-copy!

 

Resources to Use - Literature Databases

Sign-in Information:  

For JSTOR, the user ID is GCStudent1 and the password is the six-letter abbreviation for the school - do NOT use caps.

For Facts on File - Bloom's Literary Reference Online, the password and user ID are the same (use the six-letter abbreviation for the school).

For Gale's Literature Resource Center, the number required is Good Counsel's street number on Old Vic Blvd. 

Reliable Image Source

Get your images on the Britannica ImageQuest database!  

There's no need to create a citation...they do it for you!

Hint: To access Britannica Image Quest outside of school, the username and password are both the six-letter abbreviation of the school.

Remember:  You MUST cite your images!

 

Database - Search Hints

Try these tricks!

  • Root of a word + ? to search for the same word with different endings:
    • All you have to do is type in the root of the word you'd like to search with a ? at the end.  Example: "reduc?" to get results for "reduce", "reduced", "reduction", etc.  
  • Use quotes for an exact phrase!
    • Great for characters with two names.  Example: "Winston Smith"

Reminders: 

  • Don't forget the benefits of Advanced Search - specifying multiple keywords can help you narrow down results.
  • Remember to try out different keywords - there's more than one way to refer to an idea...

How can I help?

Profile Image
Amelia Davis, Librarian
Contact Info
(240) 283-3236
Send Email
 

Helpful Sites for Creating Citations

Check out these MLA--related sources from our Library page!

Provides helpful guides for writing papers in MLA format and contains information for creating bibliographies in a variety of disciplines and formats.

Don't forget Noodletools!  You can start a new project to keep everything in one place.  Ask Ms. Davis how to use it and how to sign up for a new username.

 

How to Cite in a Presentation (MLA)

Not sure how to do MLA-appropriate citations of images within your presentation?  

Check out this presentation for a how-to!

 

Writing Your Paper - Incorporating Quotes

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip