This is the "2Q - Islam Paper" page of the "Tydings - Junior Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tydings - Junior Religion  

Last Updated: Nov 17, 2015 URL: http://olgchs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=644658 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
2Q - Islam Paper Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Project Assignment - Guidelines

In the event that the portal goes down and/or you lose your assignment:

Virtual Reference Library - Helpful Titles

Want to do some virtual research?  Check out our helpful Religion ebooks - just click on the picture below!

Password Hint: Input the address of the school (five numbers).

Some of these titles include:

    

 

Wikipedia

  • You will NOT be allowed to use Wikipedia as a source for this project.
  • Why can't you use Wikipedia as a source for this project?  Check out these sources for a bit more information:

The Top 10 Reasons Students Cannot Cite or Rely on Wikipedia

Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface (NCSU Libraries)

Gotcha!  Student's Wikipedia Hoax Fools Mainstream Media

  • Remember:  Wikipedia is just "wikiality" - reality as decided by majority rule.  Do you trust classmates/younger siblings/random people to be experts?
 

Resources to Use - Databases

Here are a few helpful databases to use when researching for your presentation:

Hint:  For World Religions Online, World Geography and Culture Online, and Britannica, the username and password are the six-letter abbreviation for the school.  For Global Issues in Context, the password is the five-digit address of the school (look it up on the GC homepage if you don't know it!).

Reminders: 

  • Don't forget helpful features such as Advanced Search, Filters, Limit, and Sort by.
  • Instead of looking through the physical copy of The Encyclopedia of Religion, go to Gale's Virtual Reference Library to search our e-copy!

Helpful Resources for Creating Citations

  • OWL - Writing Center at Purdue
    Provides helpful guides for writing papers and contains information for creating bibliographies in a variety of disciplines and formats.
  • NoodleTools
    A great tool for organizing and citing resources! Create a user account with the Library account name and password provided to you by Ms. Davis.
 

MLA - Presentation

Check out this presentation for a refresher on how to cite sources on your Works Cited page and within your paper - 

How can I help?

Profile Image
Amelia Davis, Librarian
Contact Info
(240) 283-3236
Send Email
 

Resources to Use - Online Library Catalog (Destiny Quest)

Click the Destiny Quest icon to access our online library catalog!

Reminders:
 - Fun features - shelf browse, advanced search, and citation creator.
 - Remember to use your keywords!  Be both creative and specific.

 

Resources Reminder - From Mrs. Tydings

Reminder!   

Do not forget that you must use at LEAST:

  • TWO Current Events articles
    • From reputable media sources (databases or mainstream journalist organizations, i.e. Newsweek, Time, New York Times, Washington Post)
  • ONE Encyclopedia page
    • Databases!

And remember:

  • Annotate each article (underline, highlight and write notes as they are reading it)
  • DO NOT use blogs or commentary as sources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip