This is the "2Q - Islam Paper" page of the "Ruppert - Junior Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ruppert - Junior Religion  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2016 URL: http://olgchs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=705224 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
2Q - Islam Paper Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Project Assignment - Guidelines

In the event that the portal goes down and/or you lose your assignment:

 

Reminder - From Ms. Ruppert

Do not forget that you must use at least THREE acceptable sources which can come from:

   - Encyclopedia pages (Britannica, etc.)

   - Articles from reputable media sources  (i.e. from mainstream journalist organizations such as Newsweek, Time, New York Times, Washington Post, BBC, etc. NO blogs or opinion/editorials) - these can also be found through the Library's databases

   - Sources found through the Library databases (i.e. Facts on File, Gale, EBSCO, etc.)

   - Physical books from the Library collection

And remember:

  • Annotate each article (underline, highlight and write notes as you are reading it)
  • DO NOT use blogs or commentary as sources

 

Reminder - Wikipedia

  • You will NOT be allowed to use Wikipedia as a source for this project.
  • Why can't you use Wikipedia as a source for this project?  Check out these sources for a bit more information:

The Top 10 Reasons Students Cannot Cite or Rely on Wikipedia

Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface (NCSU Libraries)

Gotcha!  Student's Wikipedia Hoax Fools Mainstream Media

  • Remember:  Wikipedia is just "wikiality" - reality as decided by majority rule.  Do you trust classmates/younger siblings/random people to be experts?
 

Resources to Use - Online Library Catalog (Destiny Quest)

Click the Destiny Quest icon to access our online library catalog!

Reminders:
 - Fun features - shelf browse, advanced search, and citation creator.
 - Remember to use your keywords!  Be both creative and specific.

 

Resources to Use - Databases

Here are a few helpful databases to use when researching for your presentation:

Hint:  For World Religions Online, World Geography and Culture Online, and Britannica, the username and password are the six-letter abbreviation for the school.  For Global Issues in Context, the password is the five-digit address of the school (look it up on the GC homepage if you don't know it!).

Reminders: 

  • Don't forget helpful features such as Advanced Search, Filters, Limit, and Sort by.
  • Instead of looking through the physical copy of The Encyclopedia of Religion, go to Gale's Virtual Reference Library to search our e-copy!

Reliable Image Source

Get your images on the Britannica ImageQuest database!  

There's no need to create a citation...they do it for you!

Hint: To access Britannica Image Quest outside of school, the username and password are both the six-letter abbreviation of the school.

Remember:  You MUST cite your images!

Virtual Reference Library - Helpful Titles

Want to do some virtual research?  Check out our helpful Religion ebooks - just click on the picture below!

Password Hint: Input the address of the school (five numbers).

Some of these titles include:

    

How can I help?

Profile Image
Amelia Davis, Librarian
Contact Info
(240) 283-3236
Send Email
 

Helpful Sites for Creating Citations

Provides helpful guides for writing papers in MLA format and contains information for creating bibliographies in a variety of disciplines and formats.

Don't forget Noodletools!  You can start a new project to keep everything in one place.  Ask Ms. Davis how to use it and how to sign up for a new username.

 

MLA - Presentation

Check out this presentation for a refresher on how to cite sources on your Works Cited page and within your paper - 

 

Creating an Outline - Noodletools

 

Writing Your Paper - Incorporating Quotes

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip